61 Community College Students Awarded Prestigious Transfer Scholarship

2018 Cooke Transfer Scholars

Lansdowne, VA — The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation’s prestigious Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship today announced awards to 61 high-achieving community college students with financial need. The highly competitive national scholarship will provide recipients with up to $40,000 annually for a maximum of three years to complete their bachelor’s degree.

In addition to the monetary award, these new Cooke Transfer Scholars will receive comprehensive educational advising from Foundation staff to guide them through the process of transitioning to a four-year school and preparing for their careers. The Foundation will additionally provide opportunities for internships, study abroad, and graduate school funding, as well as connection to a thriving network of nearly 2,500 fellow Cooke Scholars and alumni.

“Our recent ‘Persistence‘ report highlights the vast potential, and achievements, of community college transfer students — who go on to outperform their non-transfer peers at selective four-year institutions,” said Seppy Basili, executive director of the Jack Kent Cooke Foundation. “In an era where many high-achieving students often begin their higher education journey in community college, the Foundation is committed to enabling these transfer students to pursue their academic dreams at the nation’s top colleges and universities.”

Nearly 1,500 students applied for the 2019 Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship. The Foundation evaluated each submission based on academic ability, persistence, leadership, and service to others. The recipients selected represent 18 different states have a median household adjusted gross income of $28,000 and an average GPA of 3.93. This year’s cohort of Cooke Transfer Scholars has applied to the nation’s most selective institutions.

A list of the 2019 Cooke Transfer Scholars, including the community colleges and states they represent, can be found below.

Interested in learning more about the Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship? Sign up to receive an email alert when the application opens again this fall!



Yassine Fouchal — Cochise College
Ivan Quintana — Mesa Community College
Shawna Yellowhair — University of New Mexico Gallup



Joseph Carter — Diablo Valley College
Diana Castro — Los Angeles Valley College
Samira Gholami — Berkeley City College
Julie Hernandez — MiraCosta College
Corey Lamb — Fullerton College
Lara Meintjes — Long Beach City College
Vanessa Newman — MiraCosta College
Alexander Richardson — Los Angeles Valley College
Mariluz Tejeda-Leon — Hartnell College
Nhi Tran — MiraCosta College
Brian Zamora — Los Angeles Mission College



Robert Mastronardi — Community College of Denver



Lucas Araujo Ferreira — Broward College
Neyton Fernandez — Miami Dade College
Hayley Furman — Seminole State College of Florida
Alejandro Garcia — Miami Dade College
Victor Garnica — Miami Dade College
Fiorenza Amanda Maria Herrera Diaz — Miami Dade College
John Lizano — Miami Dade College
Jane Lozada Foster — Seminole State College of Florida
Clarisel Lozano — Miami Dade College
Yeniselis Morales — Miami Dade College
Joseph Morel — Palm Beach State College
Mahnoor Rehman — Hillsborough Community College
Charlene Singh — Valencia College



Hoang Huynh — Georgia Perimeter College
Isaac King — Georgia Perimeter College



Zana Danner — Carl Sandburg College
Ada Marys Lorenzana — City Colleges of Chicago: Harold Washington College
Krystal Robledo — City Colleges of Chicago: Harold Washington College
Xia Williams — City Colleges of Chicago: Harold Washington College



Daniela Cervantes — Howard Community College
Jake Mathews — Frederick Community College
Wendy Mejia Aguilar — Montgomery College



Ahmed Ghalib — Washtenaw Community College
Joseph Thornton — Delta College



Rebecca Davis — Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
Meghan Nguyen — Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College


New Jersey

Mikiko Freund — Bergen Community College
Sarra Hayoune — Hudson County Community College
Won Joon Kang — Bergen Community College
Lindsey Njanja — Bergen Community College


New York

Sukhrob Abdushukurov — City University of New York: LaGuardia Community College
Laura Bisono Medina — Suffolk County Community College
Bright Tsagli — City University of New York: Bronx Community College
Monica Victoria — Westchester Community College
Matthew Wilson — City University of New York: LaGuardia Community College



Eleana Cintron — Lorain County Community College



Monica Botwinick — Umpqua Community College



Anyssa El Manfaa — Community College of Philadelphia
Robert Piemme — Community College of Allegheny County



Diego Degenhart — Lone Star College System
Sylvia Esparza — Tyler Junior College
Alberto Gonzalez Marcano — Lone Star College System
Indira Lujano — Southwest Texas Junior College
Christina Ware — Lone Star College System



Taima Al-Iriani — Northern Virginia Community College


One additional Cooke Transfer Scholar did not opt into publicity.


# # #

The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation is dedicated to advancing the education of exceptionally promising students who have financial need. Since 2000, the Foundation has awarded $190 million in scholarships to nearly 2,500 students from 8th grade through graduate school, along with comprehensive counseling and other support services. The Foundation has also provided over $100 million in grants to organizations that serve such students. www.jkcf.org

Media Contact: Amber Styles, 571-799-8063, media@jkcf.org